San Diego State to Compete in 2012 NCAA Softball Championship

May 13, 2012

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. - Mountain West champion San Diego State learned its postseason destination when the 64-team bracket for the 2012 NCAA Division I Softball Championship was announced on Sunday.

Making their fifth consecutive postseason appearance, the Aztecs (30-22) will participate in the Los Angeles Regional in Los Angeles, Calif. San Diego State will open against Florida State (46-14) on Friday, May 18 at 3 p.m. PT at Easton Stadium. The second matchup at the Los Angeles Regional will be No. 12 seed UCLA (36-18) squaring off against Hofstra (38-13) at 5:30 p.m. PT.

The Aztecs, who clinched their fifth MW title last Friday, will be competing in their eighth NCAA tournament overall and hold a 10-14 all-time record in postseason action. This marks the first time San Diego State has earned the Mountain West's automatic bid to the NCAA tournament.

The national top 16 seeds and regional sites are: 1. California (50-4) Berkley, Calif.; 2. Alabama (50-7) Tuscaloosa, Ala.; 3. Arizona State (46-7), Tempe, Ariz.; 4. Oklahoma (45-8), Norman, Okla.; 5. Florida (46-11), Tallahassee, Fla.; 6. Texas (42-10), Austin, Texas; 7. Tennessee (46-10), Knoxville, Tenn.; 8. Texas A&M (39-16), College Station, Texas; 9. Missouri (43-12), Columbus, Mo.; 10. Georgia (41-15), Athens, Ga.; 11. Oregon (39-15), Eugene, Ore.; 12. UCLA (36-18), Los Angeles, Calif.; 13. Arizona (35-17), Tucson, Ariz.; 14. Louisiana-Lafayette (49-4), Lafayette, La.; 15. Louisville (53-3), Louisville, Ky.; 16. Washington (36-17), Seattle, Wash.

Each regional field features four teams, playing a double-elimination format. All 16 regionals are scheduled to be conducted over a three-day period between Thursday, May 17 and Monday, May 20. The 16 regional winners will advance to eight super regional sites, which will be announced following completion of regional play. The super regional format will be a best-of-three series and will be played over a two-day period between Thursday, May 24 and Sunday, May 27.

The remaining eight teams will advance to the Women's College World Series (WCWS), an eight-team, double-elimination tournament. The championship final will be a best-of-three-series. The WCWS will be conducted May 31-June 6 at ASA Hall of Fame Stadium in Oklahoma City, Okla.