Softball Earns Fifth Straight NCAA Tournament Bid

May 13, 2012


Get Acrobat Reader 2012 BRACKET

The San Diego State softball team earned a trip to the NCAA Division I Softball Championship for the fifth consecutive season and the eighth time in 12 years, the NCAA announced Sunday. The Aztecs (30-22) will play Florida State (46-14) Friday on the campus of UCLA (36-18), the tournament's No. 12 overall seed. Hofstra (38-13) is the other team in the double-elimination regional.

Times for the entire regional will be announced on when they become available.

SDSU, which also made the tournament in 2001, 2003, 2006, 2008, 2009, 2010 and 2011, is 10-14 all-time in the NCAA championship and 7-11 against teams that made this year's tournament. San Diego State lost to Los Angeles Regional host UCLA, 1-0, on Feb. 19.

The Aztecs earned the automatic bid into the tournament after winning the Mountain West with a 9-3 record. It was their fifth MW conference title and first since 2008.

Heading into the weekend, SDSU has set single-season program records in batting average (.296), slugging percentage (.485), doubles (75), home runs (58), RBIs (236, tied) and total bases (675).

This year's national tournament features 64 teams, with four teams participating at 16 regional sites in a double-elimination tournament. The regional winners will advance to super regional competition for a best-of-three series from May 24-27 at eight campus sites. The remaining eight teams will advance to the Women's College World Series (WCWS), an eight-team, double-elimination tournament with the championship final being a best-of-three series. The WCWS will be conducted May 31-June 6 at the ASA Hall of Fame Stadium in Oklahoma City.

2012 NCAA Division I Softball Championship
Regionals - Double-Elimination
Easton Stadium - Los Angeles, Calif.

Friday, May 18, 2012
Game 1 or 2, TBA: San Diego State (30-22) vs. Florida State (46-14)
Game 1 or 2, TBA: Hofstra (38-13) at No. 12 overall seed UCLA (36-18)

Saturday, May 19, 2012
Game 3, TBA: Winners of Game 1 and Game 2
Game 4, TBA: Losers of Game 1 and Game 2
Game 5, TBA: Loser of Game 3 and Winner of Game 4

Sunday, May 20, 2012
Game 6, TBA: Winner of Game 3 and Game 5
*Game 7, TBA: *If necessary