Mountain West Announces 2013 Softball All-Conference Awards

May 14, 2013

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. - The Mountain West announced its 2013 Softball All-Conference Team and postseason awards today as selected by the league's seven head coaches. League champion San Diego State swept the individual awards as junior outfielder Patrice Jackson was named MW Player of the Year, senior right-hander Rebecca Arbino earned the MW Pitcher of the Year award, rookie left-hander Danielle O'Toole garnered MW Freshman of the Year accolades, and head coach Kathy Van Wyk captured MW Coach of the Year honors.

Jackson topped the league in slugging percentage (1.042), runs scored (19), home runs (9) and total bases (50), while tying for first with 19 runs batted in. A native of Kansas City, Mo., Jackson also ranked fifth in on-base percentage (.508) and ninth in batting average (.396). Defensively, the junior was nearly perfect while splitting time between right and centerfield, registering 17 putouts with just one error in 18 chances for a .944 fielding percentage. Jackson is the second Aztec to garner MW Player of the Year honors (Hayley Miles, 2012).

Arbino, a Clovis, Calif., product, led the league in Conference wins, compiling an 8-4 record while tying for the most appearances with 15. The right-hander also recorded a MW-best 73 strikeouts in league action, while ranking second in earned run average (2.02), opponent batting average (.235) and innings pitched (76.1). An Aztec hurler has now earned MW Pitcher of the Year accolades eight times in the league's 14-year history, as Arbino joins Sandra Durazo (2001); Bre DeSanta (2002); Celena Velasquez (2003 and 2004); Christina Ross (2006 and 2008) and Samantha Beasley (2010).

O'Toole is the seventh Aztec (Bre DeSanta, 2002; Celena Velasquez, 2003; Erin Floros, 2006; Bailey Micetich, 2009; Hayley Miles, 2011; Kayla Jordan, 2012) to be awarded MW Freshman of the Year accolades. In Conference play this season, the Upland, Calif., native compiled a 5-1 record while leading the league with a 1.49 earned run average. She was also third in opponent batting average (.246), eighth in strikeouts (31) and 10th in innings pitched (47.0).

Van Wyk collected her fourth MW coaching honor (2002, 2006, 2008) after guiding San Diego State to its sixth Mountain West title with a 15-3 record in Conference play. The Aztecs earned the league's automatic bid to the NCAA tournament and will be making a sixth consecutive appearance (ninth overall) in the NCAA Women's Softball Championship.

Name Team Pos. Yr. Hometown
Holly Bourke Boise State OF Sr. Woodland, Calif.
Devon Bridges! Boise State 1B Jr. Danville, Calif.
Tara Glover! Boise State OF Jr. Grants Pass, Ore.
Chelsea Biglow! Colorado State 3B Jr. Tigard, Ore.
Kacie McCarthy! Colorado State RHP Sr. Shingletown, Calif.
Ashlie Ortega! Colorado State SS Jr. Brighton, Colo.
Jill Compton Fresno State RHP Fr. Oceano, Calif.
Paige Gumz Fresno State C Fr. Chino Hills, Calif.
Vonnie Martin Fresno State 3B Jr. Plano, Texas
Brenna Moss Fresno State OF So. Bakersfield, Calif.
Karley Hopkins Nevada 2B Jr. Sparks, Nev.
Jasmine Jenkins Nevada 3B Fr. Irvine, Calif.
Rebecca Arbino! San Diego State RHP Sr. Clovis, Calif.
Lorena Bauer San Diego State DP Jr. San Diego, Calif.
Patrice Jackson! San Diego State OF Jr. Kansas City, Mo.
Danielle O'Toole San Diego State LHP Fr. Upland, Calif.
Emily Haslinger UNLV C Fr. Lake Forest, Calif.
Amanda Oliveto UNLV RHP Jr. Simi Valley, Calif.
Stefany Valentino! UNLV OF Jr. Oak Park, Calif.
Tayler Van Acker% UNLV 1B Jr. Anaheim, Calif.
Player of the Year:
Patrice Jackson, San Diego State
Pitcher of the Year:
Rebecca Arbino, San Diego State
Freshman of the Year:
Danielle O'Toole, San Diego State
Coach of the Year:
Kathy Van Wyk, San Diego State
! 2012 All-MW Selection
% 2011 All-MW Selection