Mountain West Announces 2012 Softball All-Conference Team and Awards

May 15, 2012

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. - The Mountain West announced its 2012 Softball All-Conference Team and postseason awards today as selected by the league's five head coaches. Boise State sophomore Tara Glover and San Diego State sophomore Hayley Miles were named MW Co-Players of the Year, while Colorado State junior Kacie McCarthy earned the MW Pitcher of the Year award. San Diego State's Kayla Jordan garnered MW Freshman of the Year accolades, and Colorado State head coach Jen Fisher captured MW Coach of the Year honors for the first time.

Glover, hailing from Grants Pass, Ore., becomes the first Bronco to collect MW Player of the Year acclaim after helping Boise State finish tied for second place (8-4) in its first season of Mountain West action. Batting from the Broncos' leadoff position in 2012, she led the league in hits (28), on-base percentage (.638) and stolen bases (six) while ranking second in runs scored (17), doubles (six) and slugging percentage (1.067) in Conference games. The sophomore left fielder also posted a .867 fielding percentage, recording 13 putouts and two errors.

Miles led San Diego State to its fifth Mountain West title as the Aztecs posted a 9-3 record in Conference play. The Aztecs' leadoff hitter topped the league in runs scored (21), home runs (10), runs batted in (21), walks (13) and slugging percentage (1.359) against MW opponents in 2012. A native of Antelope, Calif., Miles also ranked second in on-base percentage (.623) and tied for third in hits (19). The sophomore shortstop was perfect in the field, registering 15 putouts and 38 assists without an error. Miles, who was named MW Freshman of the Year in 2011, is the first Aztec to garner MW Player of the Year honors.

McCarthy, a Shingletown, Calif., product, is the first Ram hurler to earn MW Pitcher of the Year accolades. This season, she went 5-3 in Conference play, compiling an earned run average of 2.61 and recording a league-best six complete games. The righthander also led the MW in opposing batting average (.218) while ranking second in innings pitched (51.0) and fourth in strikeouts (28).

Jordan is the sixth Aztec (Bre DeSanta, 2002; Celena Velasquez, 2003; Erin Floros, 2006; Bailey Micetich, 2009; Hayley Miles, 2011) to be awarded MW Freshman of the Year accolades. In Conference play this season, the San Diego, Calif., native tied for the league lead in triples (2) and ranked third in on-base percentage (.549). She also tied for second in stolen bases (four), fourth in runs scored (11) and fifth in hits (17). Defensively, the Aztecs' starting left fielder recorded a .944 fielding percentage with 17 putouts and one error.

In just her second year at the helm of the program, Fisher collected her first MW coaching honor after guiding Colorado State to an 8-4 record and second-place tie in Mountain West play this season. The Rams, who were predicted to finish last in the Mountain West in 2012, closed out their MW slate with a six-game win streak en route to their best performance since winning the regular-season title in 2004. Fisher is the second Colorado State skipper to earn MW Coach of the Year honors, joining Mary Yori, who received back-to-back awards in 2003 and 2004.

Name Team Pos. Yr. Hometown
Devon Bridges Boise State OF So. Danville, Calif.
Kellie Caplan Boise State 2B Sr. Woodland Hills, Calif.
Tara Glover Boise State OF So. Grants Pass, Ore.
Aubray Zell Boise State RHP Sr. Lakewood, Calif.
Chelsea Biglow Colorado State 3B So. Tigard, Ore.
Kacie McCarthy Colorado State RHP Jr. Shingletown, Calif.
Ashlie Ortega Colorado State SS So. Brighton, Colo.
Emily Pohl Colorado State C So. Vail, Ariz.
Lyssa Roberts Colorado State OF Sr. Parker, Colo.
Chelsea Anaya New Mexico 2B/SS So. Pacolma, Calif.
Stefanie Carramussa! New Mexico 3B Jr. Tucson, Ariz.
Jessica Garcia New Mexico C Sr. Rancho Cucamonga, Calif.
Rebecca Arbino San Diego State RHP Jr. Clovis, Calif.
Patrice Jackson San Diego State OF So. Kansas City, Mo.
Kayla Jordan San Diego State OF Fr. San Diego, Calif.
Justeen Maeva% San Diego State 1B Sr. San Diego, Calif.
Bailey Micetich!^ San Diego State RHP Sr. Woodland, Calif.
Hayley Miles! San Diego State SS So. Antelope, Calif.
Paige Emerson! UNLV OF Sr. Rocklin, Calif.
Stefany Valentino UNLV OF So. Oak Park, Calif.
Co-Player of the Year:
Tara Glover, Boise State
Co-Player of the Year:
Hayley Miles, San Diego State
Pitcher of the Year:
Kacie McCarthy, Colorado State
Freshman of the Year:
Kayla Jordan, San Diego State
Coach of the Year:
Jen Fisher, Colorado State
! 2011 All-MW Selection
% 2010 All-MW Selection
^ 2009 All-MW Selection