Three Lobos Named to Mountain West All-Conference Softball Team

May 15, 2012

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. -- The Mountain West announced its 2012 Softball All-Conference Team and postseason awards today as selected by the league's five head coaches. The Lobos landed three on the 20-member team -- Chelsea Anaya, Stefanie Carramusa and Jessica Garcia. This is the first time Anaya and Garcia have been named to the MW team, while this is the second season Carramusa was recognized for being among the best in the league.

Sophomore Chelsea Anaya finished fourth on the team in batting average with a .327, recording 55 hits in 168 at-bats en route to a .565 slugging percentage and a .445 on-base percentage. Anaya had 19 extra-base hits -- seven doubles, three triples and nine home runs. She also tallied 33 RBIs and scored 46 runs. The Lobo infielder recorded 107 putouts and 103 attempts while compiling a .921 fielding percentage.

Junior Stefanie Carramusa was the first to surpass UNM's single-season record for home runs, blasting her 14th homer in the top of the sixth inning against Tulsa on March 31. Carramusa led the Lobos with long balls almost the entire season, going neck-and-neck with Garcia in setting a new record for UNM. Garcia hit a homer in New Mexico's last game of the season to claim the crown with 24. Carramusa's 23 homers ranks her second in Lobo history for single-season dingers, however, she sets a new single-season Mountain West record for juniors and finishes tied third in MW history for single-season homers.

Carramusa accomplished several other offensive feats this season as she broke both the UNM and MW junior class single-season record for runs with 60 (previous UNM record was 47 set by Jackie Van Hooydonk in 1997 and previous MW junior class record was 55 set by Kristin Delahoussaye of BYU in 2010). She also finished the 2012 campaign ranked in the top ten of several other UNM's single-season records: hits (tied for 3rd, 67), slugging percentage (2nd, .831), doubles (tied for 3rd, 16), and runs-batted-in (4th, 49). Carramusa recorded a hit in 40 of UNM's 52 games.

Carramusa guarded the hot corner for the Lobos on defense, recording 52 putouts and 107 assists, committing just eight errors to compile a .952 fielding percentage.

Senior Jessica Garcia completed her tenure at UNM with a bang. The Lobo catcher finished the season with a team-high 24 home runs -- a new single-season school record and a second-place rank in MW history for single-season homers.

Garcia had seven games in which she hit 1.000 (vs. Idaho State on Feb. 11, 4-for-4; vs. Texas Tech on Mar. 12, 3-for-3; vs. Weber State on Mar. 25, 2-for-2; vs. New Mexico State on Apr. 10, 2-for-2; vs. Boise State on Apr. 29, 4-for-4; vs. UTEP on May 1, 3-for-3; and vs. UNLV on May 4, 3-for-3). She shattered UNM's single-season records for hits (81 - previous record was 70 set by Jackie Van Hooydonk in 1997), runs-batted-in (69 - previous record was 54 set by Danielle Cassara in 1999), slugging percentage (.917 - previous was .801 set by her in 2011), and total bases (166 - previous record was 120 set in 1999 by Danielle Cassara).

The senior catcher also broke the program's single-season record for most caught stealing by, throwing out 21 runners en route to setting a new career record for the same category, catching a total of 64 runners stealing in her four seasons at UNM. The previous single-season record was 20 (which Garcia tied in 2011), set by Liz Young in 2006. The previous career record was 39, which she tied at the end of her junior season and was originally set by Amy Minick in 1986-89.

The Lobo senior is leaving ranked in a few other New Mexico career categories - hits (5th, 193), RBIs (2nd, 133), and total bases (2nd, 346).

Boise State sophomore Tara Glover and San Diego State sophomore Hayley Miles were named MW Co-Players of the Year, while Colorado State junior Kacie McCarthy earned the MW Pitcher of the Year award. San Diego State's Kayla Jordan garnered MW Freshman of the Year accolades, and Colorado State head coach Jen Fisher captured MW Coach of the Year honors for the first time.

For a complete list of the 2012 Mountain West Softball All-Conference Team, click here.