Haslinger Earns MW's Scholar-Athlete Award

LAS VEGAS, Nev. (UNLVRebels.com) - Just one week after having 77 student-athletes named to the Spring 2013 Academic All-Mountain West Team honors, UNLV athletics had 48 earn the 2012-13 MW Scholar-Athlete Award, the league office announced on Monday. Included in both categories was Emily Haslinger, a member of the Rebel softball team.

Haslinger, a 2013 MW All-Conference Team selection, is majoring in kinesiological studies and just completed her freshman season with the Rebels.

The conference had a league-record 623 student-athletes honored for the award, including 54 individuals who have achieved a 4.00 or higher cumulative grade point average over two or more terms, and 63 more who were recognized in multiple sports. The 623 honorees surpass the previous MW high of 581 set in 2010-11.

The MW Scholar-Athlete Award is one of the highest academic honors bestowed by the conference. To be eligible for selection, student-athletes must have completed at least two academic terms at the member institution, while maintaining a cumulative GPA of 3.5 or better, and have participated in varsity competition in an NCAA-sponsored sport.

UNLV has had at least 43 recipients earn the award for six straight academic years dating back to 2007-08. In fact, since the MW began handing out the Scholar-Athlete Award nine years ago (2003-04), the Rebels have had 43 or more individuals recognized in eight of its 10 years.

The Scarlet & Gray witnessed two programs either best or tie previous marks. For the second straight year, the women's swimming & diving team produced a program-high 12 selections. Women's soccer surpassed its previous best with 11 of its student-athletes earning the award.

The women's tennis and men's swimming & diving teams provided four apiece. Both men's soccer and women's track & field had three honorees, while women's volleyball and women's golf had two each. Baseball, men's basketball, women's basketball, women's cross country, football and men's golf had one individual per sport earn the award.