Top-Seeded TCU Faces Wyoming in Mountain West Semifinal

April 27, 2012


SAN DIEGO – The 32nd-ranked TCU women’s tennis team begins its quest for a fourth Mountain West Women’s Tennis Championship on Saturday when it faces Wyoming in a 4 p.m. CDT matchup at San Diego State’s Aztec Tennis Center.

The Horned Frogs (16-5, 7-0 MW) are the tournament’s No. 1 seed after winning the regular season conference title. No. 62 Wyoming (14-8, 5-2) is seeded fourth and dropped Air Force, 5-0, in the MW quarterfinals. TCU earned a first-round bye into the championship semifinals.

In the all-time series between the Frogs and Cowgirls, TCU holds a 12-0 advantage, including a 5-2 win earlier this season. The two schools have met four times in the MW tournament with TCU claiming wins in 2006, 2007, 2008 and 2010.

TCU and No. 2 seed UNLV are tied for the most MW tournament titles all-time with three. The Frogs were tournament champions in 2006, 2009 and 2010. In six all-time appearances at the MW tournament, TCU has posted a 14-3 mark.

No. 78 Stefanie Tan, recently named the Mountain West Freshman of the Year, is 12-7 this spring and has played the majority of her matches at the No. 1 spot. No. 119 Simona Parajova (11-6) and Olivia Smith (12-9) were also named to the All-Mountain West singles team.

In doubles, Millie Nichols and Smith are TCU’s top duo at 10-3 this spring and No. 49 in the ITA doubles rankings. Gaby Mastromarino and Simona Parajova, TCU’s No. 3 duo, hold a 14-1 mark this spring and went 6-0 during conference play.

Wyoming features the nation’s No. 52-ranked doubles tandem in Veronica Popovici and Simona Synkova. During the regular season, Nichols and Smith claimed an 8-4 triumph over the top Cowgirl tandem, but the winner of Saturday’s match at No. 1 doubles will, in all likelihood, earn the Mountain West’s automatic bid into the NCAA Singles and Doubles Championships.