Lobos Host Nine Teams for Spring Tournament on Saturday

April 3, 2013

2013 New Mexico Volleyball Spring Tournament - April 6 Get Acrobat Reader

ALBUQUERQUE, N.M. -- The University of New Mexico volleyball plays host to nine teams this Saturday for its 2013 Spring Tournament being held in the Johnson Center South Gym.

Northern Arizona, West Texas A&M, Adams State College, CSU Pueblo, Yavapai Community College, UTEP, Fort Lewis College and a team of Lobo alums and local greats along with the current Lobo squad will take to the courts at 9 a.m. on Saturday.

Redshirt-junior-to-be and 2012 AVCA All-American Chantale Riddle says the Lobos are looking forward to a spring weekend at home.

"It's very exciting to host a home tournament because it's a chance for us to showcase our hard work and skill during this offseason," Riddle said. "Spring tournaments allow us to compete at a high level to prepare us for a great fall."

The Lobos will play four matches in pool play starting with Yavapai and CSU Puelbo at 9 a.m. and 11 a.m. MT, respectively. UNM faces UTPE and Northern Arizona in the afternoon at 2 p.m. and 3 p.m., respectively.

All matches will be two games to 25 points.

No admission will be charged and games will occur throughout the day with a lunch break from noon to 1 p.m.

See the entire schedule, here.

This is the second of three tournaments this offseason for UNM. The Lobos played at the University of Arizona's tournament on March 23 and will head to Fort Collins, Colo., next weekend to compete in Colorado State's spring tourney.

New Mexico's spring schedule concludes on Wednesday, April 17 at home with a match against Lobo alumni and local great.

Returners for fall 2013

No. Name Height Position Year (fall '13) Experience Hometown/Last School
2 Hannah Johnson 5-11 S RS SO 1VL Longview, Wash./R.A. Long HS
3 Chantale Riddle 6-0 MB RS JR 2VL Roswell, N.M./Roswell HS
4 Lena Skipper 5-10 OH SR 1VL/TR Melbourne, Australia
6 Lexi Ross 6-2 MB SR 3VL Lake Oswego, Ore./Lakeride HS
8 Ashley Kelsey 6-0 OH RS FR RS Ewa Beach, Hawai'i/James Campbell HS
12 Megan Short 6-3 MB RS SO 1VL Arlington, Texas/Lamar HS
16 Elsa Krieg 6-2 MB RS SO 1VL Granby, Colo./Middle Park HS
17 Skye Gullatt 5-11 MB SO 1VL Denver, Colo./Smoky Hill HS
20 Sara Stelzer 5-3 DS RS FR RS Albuquerque, N.M./Hope Christian
21 Miquella Lovato 5-2 L SR 3VL Pojoaque, N.M./Pojoaque HS