Air Force Volleyball Announces 2012 Schedule

May 24, 2012

USAF ACADEMY, Colo. - Highlighted by 13 home contests, the Air Force volleyball team announced its upcoming 2012 schedule. The Falcons will play 30 regular-season matches, backed by four tournaments, 13 home matches and 16 Mountain West contests.

2012 Volleyball Schedule | Printable Schedule Get Acrobat Reader

The Falcons open the 2012 campaign on Friday, Aug. 24, at the Rice Invitational in Houston, Texas. Air Force will take on host and former WAC opponent Rice that day, before facing former Mountain West foe BYU and first-time opponent Arkansas State on Saturday, Aug. 25.

Air Force remains on the road for the next two weekends, traveling to Greeley, Colo., and Washington, D.C. The Falcons will face Northern Colorado, Oklahoma and North Dakota and the Bears' tournament over the Aug. 31-Sept. 1 weekend, before traveling to the nation's capitol for the All-Academy Tournament against Army, Navy and The Citadel at the Pentagon on Sept. 7-8.

The Falcons open their home schedule on Thursday, Sept. 13, when they host Colorado at the Academy's East Gym. Air Force will remain at home for the next six matches, including the annual home tournament against Cal State Bakersfield, Norfolk State and Washington State on Sept. 14-15. The Falcons will open Mountain West action during the home stand, as they host UNLV on Thursday, Sept. 20 and conference newcomer Frenso State on Saturday, Sept 22. Air Force wraps up the two-week stay at the Academy and its non-conference slate on Tuesday, Sept. 25, when it hosts Denver.

Air Force returns to conference action on Thursday, Sept. 28, when it travels to Boise, Idaho, to take on Boise State. The Falcons then travel to Albuquerque, N.M., on Saturday, Oct. 6, to take on New Mexico in their only contest of the weekend. They return to the Academy for matches against Nevada (Thursday, Oct. 11) and San Diego State (Saturday, Oct. 13), before closing out the first half of Mountain West play with back-to-back matches at Wyoming (Thursday, Oct. 18/Laramie, Wyo.) and Colorado State (Friday, Oct. 19/Fort Collins, Colo.).

The second half of league action begins at Cadet East Gym on Friday, Oct. 26, against Boise State. Air Force remains at the Academy for another one-match week, as it hosts New Mexico on Thursday, Nov. 1. The Falcons will then travel to San Diego State (Thursday, Nov. 8/San Diego, Calif.) and Nevada (Saturday, Nov. 11/Reno, Nev.), before concluding the home schedule against Colorado State (Thursday, No. 15) and Wyoming (Saturday, Nov. 17). The 2012 season will end over the Thanksgiving weekend with conference matches at Frenso State (Wednesday, Nov. 21/Fresno, Calif.) and UNLV (Friday, Nov. 23/Las Vegas, Nev.).