Caldwell, Westman Earn All-MW Honors

Nov. 27, 2012

LAS VEGAS ( - Just days after wrapping up a third-place finish in Mountain West action, the UNLV volleyball program had two of its student-athletes recognized for their play on the court this season by the league's nine head coaches. Kinsey Caldwell and Madeline Westman were selected as members of the 2012 MW All-Conference Team, while the former was chosen as the freshman of the year - the fourth Rebel to earn that honor since 2001.

Caldwell, a setter from Waverly, Iowa, led the Scarlet & Gray in assists (1,116), aces (24) and double-doubles (14), while starting all 29 matches and playing in every set (108). She amassed at least 22 assists in each match and topped out with a season-best 60 vs. Wyoming on Oct. 11. Besides her offensive totals in assists and aces, she also contributed 87 kills and a .324 hitting efficiency. Defensively, she had 290 digs - the second most on the team - and 56 total blocks.

She joins Sheila Ocasio-Clemente (2001), Maria Aladjova (2004) and Cursty Jackson (2008) as a recipient of the freshman of the year award.

Westman, a junior middle blocker from Wauconda, Ill., is no stranger to the All-MW recognition, as she was named a year ago to the 2011 edition. She was a presence on both sides of the net with her blocking and attacking abilities. She led the team in all three blocking categories with a total of 137 - 19 of which were solo and 118 were assisted. She tied a career-high with three matches of nine total blocks. She finished second on the team in kills with 288 all the while hitting at a .292 clip. She notched 14 double-digit kill matches with a career-high 21 kills on the road against Boise State. She hit .300 or better 16 times in 2012, and she topped out with a .769 showing against Prairie View A&M, which tied a UNLV single-season record. She also chipped in 59 digs, 11 assists and nine aces. She also appeared in all 108 sets and 29 matches for UNLV.

Overall, 18 individuals were recognized by the MW on Tuesday. Colorado State's Dana Cranston was named the league's player of the year, while San Diego State's Michelle Waber was designated the conference's newcomer of the year. Waber's instructor, Deitre Collins-Parker, was picked as the MW's Coach of the Year.