Steve Fisher to Receive Wooden Legends of Coaching Award Tonight

SAN DIEGO – San Diego State men’s basketball head coach Steve Fisher will receive the John R. Wooden Award’s Legends of Coaching honor tonight at the Los Angeles Athletic Club. The presentation is part of the 39th Annual Wooden Award Gala presented by Wendy’s, which will be televised on ESPN2 beginning at 5 p.m. PT.

The official announcement, made by Wooden’s daughter, Nan Wooden, took place last October at the annual Los Angeles Athletic Club Wooden Award Tipoff Luncheon. Adopted by the Wooden Award Steering Committee in 1999, the prestigious Legends of Coaching award recognizes coaches who exemplify Wooden’s high standards of coaching success and personal integrity. Fisher is the first coach of a Southern California school to receive the honor.

The award winners are selected based on character, success on the court, graduation rates of student-athletes, coaching philosophy and identification with the goals of the John R. Wooden Award. The first recipient was North Carolina’s Dean Smith.

In 16 seasons at SDSU, Fisher has guided the Aztecs to eight NCAA tournament appearances, 11 postseason berths overall, nine Mountain West championships and 11 seasons of at least 20 wins, including the last 10 years. More recently, the 2011 National Coach of the Year has led San Diego State to the NCAA tournament six seasons in a row, including a pair of Sweet 16 appearances the last five years in 2011 and 2014. In 2011, the Aztecs captured the MW regular-season and tournament crowns en route to a 34-3 record and nearly duplicated the effort in 2014 by winning the conference regular season and posting a 31-5 record. In 2015, San Diego State reached at least the third round of the NCAA tournament for the third straight year and won an MW-best ninth conference championship.

In addition to the Legends of Coaching Award winner, the 39th Annual Wooden Award Gala presented by Wendy’s will celebrate the male and female Wooden Award recipients and All-America Teams. The festivities will also include the announcement of the Wooden Award winner.

2014 - Tara VanDerveer, Stanford
2013 - Bill Self, Kansas
2012 - Geno Auriemma, Connecticut
2011 - Tom Izzo, Michigan State
2010 - Billy Donovan, Florida
2009 - Rick Barnes, Texas
2008 - Pat Summitt, Tennessee
2007 - Gene Keady, Purdue
2006 - Jim Boeheim, Syracuse
2005 - Jim Calhoun, Connecticut
2004 - Mike Montgomery, Stanford
2003 - Roy Williams, Kansas
2002 - Denny Crum, Louisville
2001 - Lute Olson, Arizona
2000 - Mike Krzyzewski, Duke
1999 - Dean Smith, North Carolina