Two Student-Athletes Represent MW On Both Paul Hornung Award and WAlter Camp Player of Year Preseason Watch Lists

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. – San Diego State’s Rashaad Penny and San José State’s Tim Crawley represent the Mountain West on the Paul Hornung Award watch list, while Boise State’s Brett Rypien and San Diego State’s Donnel Pumphrey were named to the Walter Camp Player of the Year preseason watch list. Both selections were announced on Friday morning.

The Paul Hornung Award is given annually to the most versatile player in college football.

A kick returner/running back out of Norwalk, California, Penny returned 24 kicks last year for 804 yards (33.5 avg.) and three touchdowns. He was one of five players in FBS play to have at least three kick return touchdowns, ranking second in the nation in kick return average (33.5) and being named the MW Special Teams Player of the Year. A wide receiver, he was the only Spartans to catch a pass in every regular-season game in 2015. In addition, the native of Santa Clara ranked third on the team in pass receiving, with personal single-season bests of 39 receptions, while scoring five touchdowns. He had four rushing attempts, which included a touchdown run, returned a punt and a kickoff as well as attempted a pass.

Rypien, one of 30 signal-callers on the O’Brien Award watch list and the only one from a Mountain West school, is coming off of a debut 2015 season in which he was named Mountain West Freshman of the Year and to the all-conference first team after leading the loop in passing yards (3,353), total offense (3,276 yards), completions (273) and attempts (429). Pumphrey is just the second Aztec to appear on the Walter Camp Player of the Year Preseason Watch List, following in the footsteps of NFL champion Ronnie Hillman, who landed on the list ahead of the 2011 campaign. Last year, Pumphrey rushed for 1,653 yards and 17 touchdowns on 309 attempts (5.3 avg.), while leading the team with 28 catches for 416 yards and three touchdowns en route to being named a Sports Illustrated Honorable-Mention All-American, the MW Offensive Player of the Year and an all-MW first-team selection for a second straight season.