UNLV's Rashad Vaughn Named to Jerry West Award Watch List

Courtesy of UNLVRebels.com

LAS VEGAS - UNLV freshman guard Rashad Vaughn is one of 16 candidates named to the watch list for the 2015 Jerry West Shooting Guard of the Year Award, the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame announced Thursday.

Named after Hall of Famer and 1959 NCAA Final Four Most Valuable Player Jerry West, the annual honor in its inaugural year recognizes the top shooting guards in Division I men’s college basketball. A national committee comprised of top college basketball personnel determined the watch list.

Vaughn suffered a torn meniscus in his left knee during UNLV’s win over Fresno State on Feb. 10, and had surgery on Wednesday. He is out indefinitely.

Vaughn is UNLV's leading scorer this season with an average of 17.8 points per game and has scored 30 or more points twice, and 20 or more on nine occasions. He appeared in 23 of UNLV's 24 games before being injured, starting all of the games in which he played. He has also averaged 4.8 rebounds per contest.

The list of 16 candidates will be narrowed down to five players by early March, and the five finalists will be presented to West and the Hall of Fame’s selection committee. The winner of the Jerry West Award will be presented at ESPN’s new College Basketball Awards in Los Angeles, Calif., on April 10. The Awards will be televised live on ESPN2 at 8 p.m. ET.

For more information on the award, visit Hoophallawards.com.

2015 Jerry West Award Candidates
Ron Baker, Wichita State University
James Blackmon Jr., University of Indiana
Malcolm Brogdon, University of Virginia
Jerian Grant, University of Notre Dame
D’Angelo Harrison, St. John’s University
Tyler Harvey, Eastern Washington University
Tyler Haws, Brigham Young University
Buddy Hield, University of Oklahoma
Trevor Lacey, North Carolina State University
E.C. Matthews, University of Rhode Island
Sheldon McClellan, University of Miami
Chasson Randle, Stanford University
D’Angelo Russell, Ohio State University
Marcus Thornton, College of William & Mary
Rashad Vaughn, UNLV
Joseph Young, University of Oregon