UNLV's Wood, Wyoming's Nance Jr. on Karl Malone Award Watch List

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. - UNLV sophomore Christian Wood and Wyoming senior Larry Nance Jr. have been named to the 16-member watch list for the 2015 Karl Malone Power Forward of the Year Award, announced Tuesday by the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame. Named after the Hall of Famer and two-time NBA Most Valuable Player, the annual honor in its inaugural year recognizes the top power forward in Division I men’s college basketball. A national committee comprised of top college basketball personnel determined the initial watch list.

Wood, who has started all 25 of UNLV’s games this season, is averaging a double-double with 15.6 points and a team-high 10.0 rebounds per game. He also leads the team in blocks with 3.0 per contest and is shooting 50.9 percent from the field.

Despite missing the last three games with mononucleosis, Nance paces the Pokes with 16.3 points, 7.2 rebounds and 1.2 blocks per game, while shooting 55 percent from the field.

Malone attended Louisiana Tech due to its close proximity to his hometown of Summerfield, La., and led the Bulldogs to an NCAA Sweet-16 appearance. He earned All-Southland honors in three seasons while averaging 18.7 points and 9.3 rebounds per game. He went on to achieve great success during his 19 seasons in the NBA as a 14-time NBA All-Star, 11-time All-NBA First Team player and a member of the NBA’s 50th Anniversary All-Time Team. He also won two Olympic gold medals in 1992 and 1996 and was inducted into the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame in 2010.

The list of 16 candidates will be narrowed down to five players by early March, and the five finalists will be presented to Malone and the Hall of Fame’s selection committee. The winner of the Malone Award will be presented at ESPN’s new College Basketball Awards in Los Angeles, Calif., on April 10. The Awards will be televised live on ESPN2 at 8 p.m. ET.

For more information on the award, visit Hoophallawards.com.

2015 Karl Malone Award Candidates
Perry Ellis, University of Kansas
Rico Gathers, Baylor University
Montrezl Harrell, University of Louisville
Rondae Hollis-Jefferson, University of Arizona
David Laury, Iona College
Jake Layman, University of Maryland
Kevon Looney, UCLA
Jordan Mickey, Louisiana State University
Justin Moss, University at Buffalo
Larry Nance Jr., University of Wyoming
Georges Niang, Iowa State University
Myles Turner, University of Texas
Seth Tuttle, University of Northern Iowa
Aaron White, University of Iowa
Kyle Wiltjer, Gonzaga University
Christian Wood, UNLV