UNM's Bairstow, SDSU's Thames Named to Naismith Trophy Midseason 30 List

Follow @MW_MHoops on Twitter Twitter

ATLANTA - New Mexico senior forward Cameron Bairstow and San Diego State senior guard Xavier Thames have both been named to the Naismith Trophy Midseason 30 List, announced today by the Atlanta Tipoff Club. The list is comprised of 30 student-athletes who are vying for one of the sport's most prestigious honors.

The Mountain West is one of nine conferences with multiple representatives on the list.

Bairstow leads the Lobos and ranks second in the league with a 20.2 scoring average this season. His .565 field goal shooting percentage ranks tops in the Conference, while his 7.0 rebounding average is 12th. The Brisbane, Australia, native is also a midseason candidate for the Wooden Award and Oscar Roberston Trophy

Thames, a product of Sacramento, Calif., leads the Aztecs and ranks third among Conference scoring leaders (17.9). He is also second in the MW in steals (1.7 spg) and fourth in free throw shooting percentage (.833). This is Thames' second midseason honor, as he is also a candidate for the Oscar Robertson Trophy.

The 30-player midseason list was compiled by the Atlanta Tipoff Club’s Board of Selectors, which based its criteria on player performances to this point in the 2013-14 campaign. In March, the Naismith Trophy voting academy will narrow the list to the four finalists.

Named in honor of Dr. James Naismith, creator of the game of basketball, the Naismith Trophy Presented by AT&T will be awarded to the men’s college player of the year on April 6, 2014 in Dallas.

Name Class Position Team
Kyle Anderson So. G/F UCLA
Keith Appling Sr. G Michigan State
James Bell Sr. G Villanova
Bryce Cotton Sr. G Providence
Cleanthony Early Sr. F Wichita State
Melvin Ejim Sr. F Iowa State
Joel Embiid Fr. C Kansas
Tyler Ennis Fr. G Syracuse
C.J. Fair Sr. F Syracuse
Aaron Gordon Fr. F Arizona
Gary Harris So. G Michigan State
Joe Jackson Sr. G Memphis
Nick Johnson Jr. G Arizona
DeAndre Kane Sr. G Iowa State
Sean Kilpatrick Sr. G Cincinnati
Roy Devyn Marble Sr. G Iowa
Doug McDermott Sr. F Creighton
Shabazz Napier Sr. G Connecticut
Jabari Parker Fr. F Duke
Lamar Patterson Sr. F Pittsburgh
Casey Prather Sr. F Florida
Julius Randle Fr. F Kentucky
Marcus Smart So. G Oklahoma State
Russ Smith Sr. G Louisville
Nik Stauskas So. G Michigan
Fred VanVleet So. G Wichita State
Andrew Wiggins Fr. G Kansas
Chaz Williams Fr. G/F Massachusetts