New Mexico's Cameron Bairstow Named Oscar Robertson Trophy Finalist

ST. LOUIS, Mo. --- New Mexico senior forward Cameron Bairstow is one of 15 players named as a finalist for the 2014 Oscar Robertson Trophy by the U.S. Basketball Writers Association (USBWA). Members of the association's board of directors chose the finalists and the entire 975-member USBWA will vote on the awards, as well as the annual All-America and All-District teams. The ballots will be distributed Sunday evening and USBWA members may still write in candidates for the three individual honors.

Bairstow is the only Mountain West player on the list. He was named to the Midseason Watch List on January 23rd.

Since the 1958-59 season, the USBWA has named a National Player of the Year. In 1998, the award was named in honor of the University of Cincinnati Hall of Famer and two-time USBWA Player of the Year Oscar Robertson. It is the nation's oldest award and the only one named after a former player.

Bairstow leads New Mexico and the Mountain West in scoring at 20.2 points per game and is one of five players nationally averaging over 20 points per game after averaging in single digits last year. After never scoring more than 17 points in any game in his first three seasons, he has turned in 16 20-point games this year, including scoring 29 twice. He leads the Mountain West in field goal percentage, and is first or second on the team in scoring, field goal percentage, free throw percentage and blocks. Three times this year he has been named the Mountain West Player of the Week.

Name Class Position Institution
Kyle Anderson Sophomore Guard/Forward UCLA
Cleanthony Early Senior Forward Wichita State
Melvin Ejim Senior Forward Iowa State
Tyler Ennis Freshman Guard Syracuse
C.J. Fair Senior Forward Syracuse
Nick Johnson Junior Guard Arizona
Sean Kilpatrick Senior Guard Cincinnati
Doug McDermott Senior Forward Creighton
Shabazz Napier Senior Guard Connecticut
Jabari Parker Freshman Forward Duke
Casey Prather Senior Forward Florida
Julius Randle Freshman Forward Kentucky
Russ Smith Senior Guard Louisville
Andrew Wiggins Freshman Guard Kansas