San Diego State Leads After First Round of 2015 Mountain West Women's Golf Championship


First Round Results | Stat Leaders | MW Network Recap
2015 MW Women's Golf Championship Central | Second Round Pairings and Tee Times
Follow @MW_OlySports on Twitter Twitter | Mountain West Network


RANCHO MIRAGE, Calif. - San Diego State carded an even-par 288 today to secure the lead after the first round of the 2015 Mountain West Women's Golf Championship at the Mission Hills Country Club in Rancho Mirage, California. The Aztecs, who are in the hunt for their first MW championship title, hold a five-shot lead over second-place San José State, which is at 5-over 293 after 18 holes of play. UNLV and Nevada completed the first round in a tie for third place at 11-over 299, followed by Boise State, who is in fifth at 13-over 301. Defending champion New Mexico completed the round in sixth at 15-over 303, while Colorado State (16-over 304), Fresno State (24-over 312) and Wyoming (24-over 312) rounded out the team standings.


San Diego State freshman Milagros Chaves established a new Conference first-round record, pacing the field with a 6-under 66. Her opening 18 holes also tied the single-round record in MW tournament history, joining New Mexico's Kailin Downs (2004) and UNLV's Seema Sadekar (2004) as the third-ever MW golfer to card a round of 66 in the Conference championship. San José State senior Megan Osland enters Day 2 in second place at 3-under 69, while New Mexico sophomore Manon Mollé, San Diego State senior Paige Spiranac and UNLV freshman Harley Dubsky are knotted in third place with identical scores of even-par 72 on the par 72, 6,291-yard Dinah Shore Tournament Course.


Chaves led the field with seven birdies on the day, including five on the back nine, while eight other participants recorded four birdies apiece. Nevada senior Nikki Prichard and San Diego State junior Emma Henrikson each collected an eagle in the first round of action.


The second round of the 2015 Mountain West Women's Golf Championship will begin Tuesday morning at 7 a.m. PT, followed by the final 18 holes on Wednesday at 7 a.m. Live scoring is available at and