Wyoming's McCullough Wins Individual Title at Ram Masters Invitational


FORT COLLINS, Colo. – University of Wyoming freshman golfer Drew McCullough won his first career event on Tuesday at the Ram Masters Invitational at the Fort Collins Country Club. McCullough posted a three-round tally of 210 (E) after shooting a 72 (+2) in the final round. The Cowboys finished in ninth place in the 15-team field as Wyoming posted a score of 883 (+43). UW shot a 288 (+8) in the first round, 301 (+21) in the second and 294 (+14) in the final round.

McCullough became the first Wyoming freshman to win an individual title. He also became the fourth Cowboy to win an event hosted by Colorado State. In all, Wyoming has had an individual champion at an event 18 times in program history. UW has also had an individual win an event in three straight seasons as Eddie Stewart (2012) and Kamrin Allen (2013) won the Battle in the Tetons.

"We played alright we need to be more consistent but it was a solid effort," UW head coach Joe Jensen said. "I would have liked to catch some teams but it was a tough field of teams. Big highlight for us was Drew winning; he played very well on an outstanding course. It was a difficult test and a quality win."

Sophomore Ryan Wallen finished tied for 37th carding a 72 (+2) and a total of 222 (+12). Junior Kamrin Allen shot a 77 (+7) for a score of 224 (+14) tying for 46th. Freshman Glenn Workman tied for 51st with a 73 (+3) in the final round with a three-round total of 227 (+17). Freshman Quintin Pope came in at 78th with a final score of 240 (+30).

Redshirted freshman Arron Lickteig, golfing as an individual, tied for 56th and shot a 78 (+8) on Tuesday finishing play at 228 (+18). Freshman Cameron Lindell, golfing as an individual, tied for 67th with a tally of 234 (+24).

Colorado State won the team title with a score of 855 (+15) with a first round of 283 (+3), second round of 287 (+7) and a 285 (+5) for the final round of the event.

The Cowboys return to action Friday, Sept. 26 and Saturday Sept. 27 at the William H. Tucker Intercollegiate in Albuquerque, N.M.